My first taste of gaming

So I’ve always wondered where most people started in the gaming world, Some started in their childhood, others in their adult years, heck even some when they hit elderly status. For me it started at the tender age of three my brothers had this rectangular looking keyboard hybrid with a cassette attachment and on loading a game I was mesmerized at the screeching & beeping sounds and crazy flashes it did, probably seizure inducing but it was awesome. I was amazed and shocked never had I seen anything like it and what I was getting myself into, thus beginning my journey into gaming world.

One day my brothers where setting up this huge plastic thing as I thought of it back then, and curious I asked what they where doing, being in the way as a kid I got told to watch out or move or the occasional go away, but me being me I was determined I needed to know so I did what I knew best moaned and groaned and the classic words ‘I’m telling mom!‘  being a kid was frustrating looking back on it. Anyway getting back on track they just looked at me in a gaze that could turn people to stone and then came out the words, this little guy is known as a video games system and it’s name is a Spectrum (ZX Spectrum +2), me still had no idea what they where talking about was still intrigued.

As they started with the boot up I was amazed! This day in age if I was to sit there waiting for one of these games to load I’d flip! The loading was awful on these and it just shows you how far we have come in the gaming world. Games that load up though with the screechy sounds, the random beeps and flashy line backgrounds gives me that very nostalgic feel, those feelings are fantastic. So a couple of days later after watching my brothers play different games I asked if I could play, my older brother said yes, to my surprise I was overjoyed, my brother grabbed this game which had a little kid on a bike throwing newspapers. The game as most should know as Paperboy. Upon starting this game I had no idea what I was doing riding along the street throwing newspapers randomly and getting knocked down by the various pedestrians and obstacles in my way. I became annoyed and back then I had it bad, but with my brother helping me out I slowly but surely started to get better.

I learned you needed to deliver the newspapers to certain houses and avoid the obstacles better and learn their basic pattern, the ending to the levels were fun a little obstacle course, hitting targets and flying over ramps is a nice breather from delivering all those newspapers and gives a shine of success, to be honest could you blame me I was three years old! Now I did play a range of other games but this is the one that stuck out to me and it’s the one that I always think of when I think back to when I got my first taste of gaming it’s amazing how far gaming has come but there is nothing like that good old nostalgic feeling of the younger days now I have played this as an adult and it’s still pretty enjoyable still you can see it was a very basic game but most games are even to this day, but Paperboy will forever hold a special places in my heart. After all we all have to start from somewhere don’t we? It’s been a pleasure to share a little of my venture into the gaming universe, bye for now.


 

Leave a Reply

